Skip Nav

Faculty

Jacqueline Aitkenhead-Peterson

Jacqueline Aitkenhead-Peterson

Associate Professor, Soil and Crop Sciences

Research Interests: Effect of urbanization, green roof, chemistry of turfgrass runoff, groundwater chemistry and human health, soil taponomy

Heep Center, Room 620 – (979) 845-3682 – jpeterson@ag.tamu.edu


Srinivasulu Ale

Srinivasulu Ale

Assistant Professor, Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Research Interests: Water quality assessment, irrigation and drainage, groundwater-surface water interactions, ecohydrology

P.O. Box 1658, 11708 Highway 70 South, Veron, Texas – (940) 552-9941, ext 232 – sriniale@ag.tamu.edu Divider


Robin Autenrieth

Robin Autenrieth

Associate Dean and Professor, Civil Engineering

Research Interests: Physical and chemical parameters of microbial water contamination; risk assessment framework for human health risks

WERC, Room 205-E – (979) 845-3539 – r-autenrieth@tamu.eduE


Bill Batchelor

Bill Batchelor

Professor, Civil Engineering

Research Interests: Treatment systems for water, wastewater, hazardous wastes and contaminated soils and sludges; technologies for improving desalination and industrial cooling water systems; water and energy systems

WERC 205H, 3136 TAMU – (979) 845-1304 – bill-batchelor@tamu.edu E


Michael P. Bishop

Michael P. Bishop

Professor and Haynes Chair in Geosciences, Department of Geography

Research Interests: Alpine glaciers, Mountain hydrology, Surface runoff and erosion

(979) 845-7998 – michael.bishop@tamu.edu


Diane E. Boellstorff

Diane E. Boellstorff

Assistant Professor and Extension Water Resources Specialist, Department of Soil and Crop Sciences, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service

Research Interests: Water resource planning and management; effective outreach and stakeholder involvement; water conservation; source water protection and public health

(979) 458-3562 – dboellstorff@tamu.edu


Jean Bowman

Jean Ann Bowman

Research Scientist, Geography

Research Interests: Water resource planning and management. Global hydrology related mainly to global climate variation and change

Integrated Life Sciences Building, Room 3121 – (979) 458-1140 – jbowman@tamu.edu


Sam Brody

Sam Brody

Professor, Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning

Research Interests: Adaptive floodplain management; wetlands banking and mitigation; urban watershed management and planning

C104A Langford – (979) 458-4623 – sbrody@arch.tamu.edu


Kelly Brumbelow

Kelly Brumbelow

Associate Professor, Civil Engineering

Research Interests: Water resources planning and management; agricultural water resources systems; decision support systems; climate variability and climate change effects; assessment of water resources policy

205L Wisenbaker – (979) 458-2678 – kbrumbelow@civil.tamu.edu


Tony Cahill

Tony Cahill

Associate Professor, Civil Engineering

Research Interests: Soil moisture and watershed hydrology; stochastic hydrology; numerical modeling; low slope hydrology

WERC 205J – (979) 862-3858 – tcahill@civil.tamu.edu


Jung-Hui Chu

Kung-Hui Chu

Associate Professor. Zachry Department of Civil Engineering and Interdisciplinary Faculty of Toxicology and Water Program

Research interests: biotechnologies to address various environmental challenges in water, soils, and energy

205G WERC – (979) 845-1403 – kchu@civil.tamu.edu


Gabriel Eckstein

Gabriel Eckstein

Professor. Texas A&M University School of Law

Research interests: Natural resources and environmental law and policy at both the national and international levels, as well as on the interrelationship of law and science. His recent publications have addresses endangered species challenged to oil and gas development, climate change challenges to the management of global water resources, and the international law of transboundary aquifers. He is currently researching the management and regulation of pharmaceuticals in our nation’s waters and environment

1515 Commerce Street Fort Worth, Texas – (817) 212-3912 – gabrieleckstein@law.tamu.edu


Juan Enciso

Juan Enciso

Assistant Professor, Texas A&M Agrilife Extension and Center at Weslaco

Research Interests: irrigation system design and management, deficit irrigation, water management, salinity management, drainage problems and wastewater utilization

2415 E. Hwy. 83, Weslaco, TX – (956) 969-5635 – jenciso@ag.tamu.edu


Huilin Gao

Huilin Gao

Assistant Profressor, Zachry Department of Engineering

Research interests: Hydroclimatology, hydrometeorology, remote sensing, and water resources management

Zachry Department of Civil Engineering – (979) 845-2875 – hgao@civil.tamu.edu


Guy Fipps

Guy Fipps

Professor and Extension Specialist, Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Research interests: Transboundary water issues, irrigation technology, water and salinity management, water resources engineering, irrigation scheme management and rehabilitation

207B Scoates Hall – (979) 845-7454 – g-fipps@tamu.edu


Oliver W. Fraunfeld

Oliver W. Frauenfeld

Assistant Professor, Department of Geography

Research interests: surface-atmospheric interactions, climate change and precipitation impacts, high-latitude climate, atmospheric circulation, quantitative methods, land surface processes

810 Eller O&M Building – (979) 862-8420 – oliverf@geog.tamu.edu


Terry Gentry

Terry Gentry

Assistant Professor, Soil and Crop Science

Research Interests: Soil contamination

550A Heep Center – (979) 845-5323 – tgentry@ag.tamu.eduE


Rick Giardino

John (Rick) Giardino

Department Head and Professor, Geology and Geophysics, Professor, Geography

Research Interests: Fluvial geomorphology; watershed restoration; water quality; mass wasting mechanics; Geographic Information Systems (GIS); remote sensing of hydrologic systems; remote sensing of hydrologic systems

108C Halbouty – (979) 845-3224 – rickg@tamu.edu


Ron Griffin

Ron C. Griffin

Professor, Agricultural Economics

Research Interests: Water resource scarcity economics, especially: water pricing, water marketing, deman analysis, costs benefit analysis, and water policy

211 AGLS Building – (979) 845-7049 – ron-griffin@tamu.edu


Inci Guneralp

Inci Guneralp

Assistant Professor, Geography

Research interests: Process-based modeling of meander hydro-morphodynamics, biomorphodynamics of fluvial landscapes, and heterogeneity and stochasticity in riverine-landscape dynamics

803F O&M Building – (979) 845-7155 – iguneralp@geos.tamu.eduE


James Heilman

James Heilman

Professor, Soil and Crop Sciences

Research Interests: Water movement in ecosystems

237A Heep Center – (979) 845-7169 – j-heilman@tamu.edu


Bruce Herbert

Bruce Herbert

Professor, Geology and Geophysics

Research Interests: Biogeochemistry of wetlands, aquatic sediments, aquifers, and the coastal margin; contaminant transport in aquifers

(979) 845-2405 – Halbouty 309 – herbert@geo.tamu.edu


Yong Huang

Yong Huang

Assistant Professor, Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Research Interests: Membrane technology for water treatment; environmental remediation technology; the movement of waterborne contaminants in surface and subsurface environments

303E Scoates Hall – (979) 862-8031 – yhuang@tamu.edu


Fouad Jaber

Fouad Jaber

Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist in Integrated Water

Research interests: Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Texas Agrilife Extension Service – (979) 952-9672 – f-jaber@tamu.edu


John Jacob

John Jacob

Director, Texas Coastal Watershed Program; Associate Professor, Department of Recreation, Park, and Tourism Sciences

Research Interests: Watershed management, stormwater management, and wetland science/management

1250 Bay Area Blvd., Suite C, Houston, TX 77058 – (281) 218-0565 – jjacob@tamu.edu


Wendy Jepson

Wendy Jepson

Professor, Department of Geography

Research Interests: water security, urban water governance, and environmental justice with regional specialization in Brazil and US Southwest

CSA 201D – wjepson@tamu.edu


Ronald Kaiser

Ronald Kaiser

Professor, Recreation, Park and Tourism Sciences

Research Interests: Water law; groundwater management; water marketing; urban water conservation; recreational access to water; analysis of water policy

600 John Kimbrough Blvd, Suite 409K – (979) 845-5303 – rkaiser@tamu.edu


Raghupathy Karthikeyan

Raghupathy Karthikeyan

Associate Professor, Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Research Interests: Biochemical engineering; applied and environmental microbiology; environmental transport processes

306A Scoates Hall – (979) 845-7951 – karthi@tamu.edu


Peter Knappett

Peter Knappett

Assistant Professor, Geology and Geophysics

Research Interests: Field and experimental hydrology, groundwater contamination and treatment

Halbouty 503 – (979) 845-2006 – knappett@tamu.edu


Robert Knight

Robert Knight

Associate Professor, Ecosystem Science and Management

Research Interests: Wetland plant ecology; wetland delineation

Rm 322 Animal Industries Bldg. -(979)845-5557– bob-knight@tamu.edu


Gerard Kyle

Gerard Kyle

Professor, Department of Recreation, Park an Tourism Sciences

Research Interests: human dimensions of natural resources: the meanings various groups ascribe to wildland environments, stakeholder conflict and preference related to natural resources and human-wildlife conflict

AGLS Building 437 – (979) 862-3794 – gkyle@tamu.edu


Ming Han Li

Ming Han Li

Assistant Professor, Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning

Research Interests: Urban stormwater management; erosion control structures; stream bank stabilization

Langford A306 – (979) 845-7571 – minghan@tamu.eduE


Franco Marcanonio

Franco Marcantonio

Assistant Department Head and Professor, Geology and Geophysics

Research interests: radiogenic isotopic geochemistry

Halbouty 102 – (979) 845-2451 – marcantonio@geo.tamu.edu


Bruce McCarl

Bruce McCarl

Professor, Agricultural Economics

Research Interests: Climate change; climate change mitigation; water economics

(979) 845-1706 – mccarl@tamu.edu


Kevin Mclnness

Kevin McInnes

Professor, Environmental Physics

Research Interests: Environmental soil sciences and soil, crop, and environmental physics

239 Heep Center – (979) 845-5986 – kmcinnes@ag.tamu.edu


Gretchen Miller

Gretchen Miller

Assistant Professor, Zachry Department of Civil Engineering

Research Interests: Hydrological connections between vegetation and the subsurface

205-E WERC – (979) 862-2581 – gmiller@civil.tamu.edu


James Mjedle

James Mjelde

Professor, Agricultural Economics

Research Interests: Economics of information as it pertains to water use; climate variability

212C AGLS Building – (979) 845-1492 – j-mjelde@tamu.edu


Binayak Mohanty

Binayak Mohanty

Professor, Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Research Interests: Vadose zone hydrology; chemical transport in porous media; detection of soil moisture through remote sensing

301C Scoates Hall – (979) 458-4421 – bmohanty@tamu.edu


Rabi Mohtar

Rabi H. Mohtar

TEES Research Professor, Biological and Agricultural Engineering Department and Zachry Department of Civil Engineering

Research Interests: the development of a framework to quantify the interlinkages of the Water-Energy-Food Nexus that is constrained by climate change and social, political, and technological pressures; continue the discovery and impact in environmental and natural resources conservation engineering, characterization of the soil water medium at the pedon, field, and watershed scales; and design and evaluation of international sustainable water management programs to deal with water scarcity

306B Scoates Hall. – (979)  458-9886 - mohtar@tamu.edu


Georgianne Moore

Georgianne Moore

Associate Professor, Rangeland Ecology and Management

Research Interests: Plant transpiration losses and ecohydrology; invasive species and water management; land management impacting river hydrology and groundwater recharge

329 Animal Industries Bludg. – (979) 845-3765 – gwmoore@tamu.edu


Miguel Mora

Miguel Mora

Professor, Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences and Intercollegiate Faculty of Toxicology

Research interests: Ecotoxicology, wildlife toxicology, avian ecology

316 Nagle Hall – (979) 845-5775 mmora@tamu.edu


Clyde Munster

Clyde Munster

Professor, Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Research Interests: Agricultural BMPs; hydrologic modeling of agricultural chemical transport; groundwater flow in karst systems

Hobgood Building, Room 127 – (979) 847-8793 – c-munster@tamu.edu


John Nielson-Gammon

John Nielson-Gammon

Professor, Atmospheric Sciences

Research Interests: Synoptic-scale dynamic meteorology and weather prediction; Air pollution meteorology; Mesoscale meteorlogy; Applied climatology

O&M Buildling, Room 1210F – (979) 862-2248 – n-g@tamu.edu


Gerald North

Gerald North

Distinguished Professor and Holder of the Harold J. Haynes Endowed Chair in Geosciences

Research Interests: Climate analysis; climate and hydrological modeling; satellite remote sensing

O&M Building, Room 1205B – (979) 845-8077 – g-north@tamu.edu


Francisco Olivera

Francisco Olivera

Assistant Professor, Civil Engineering

Research Interests: Application of GIS to hydrologic modeling; modeling of non-point source pollution; modeling of water transport processes

Wisenbaker Engineering Research Center, Room 205-F–(979) 845-1404 – folivera@civilmail.tamu.edu 


Kathleen O'Reilly

Kathleen O'Reilly

Assistant Professor, Geography

Research Interests: Community and gender influence in domestic water use and decision-making

CSA Building, Room 201C – (979) 845-6519 – koreilly@geog.tamu.edu


John Pantano

John Pantano

Research Professor, Berg-Hughes Center

Research Interests: Contaminants in soil and water, Biogeochemistry of surface and groundwater interaction, Fate and Transport Reaction Modeling

102 Halbouty – (406) 490-8387 – john.pantano@tamu.edu


Suresh Pillai

Suresh Pillai

Professor and Texas AgriLife Faculty Fellow Environmental Microbiology & Food Safety Director, National Center for Electron Beam Research

Research Interests: Occurrence, fate, detection, transport, and activity of microbial pathogens in ground, surface, and wastewater. 

Kleberg Center, Room 418B – (979) 845-2994 – s-pillai@tamu.edu


Daniel Roelke

Daniel Roelke

Professor, Wildlife and Fisheries

Research Interests: Food-web ecology and ecosystem sciences in aquatic environments; plankton ecology; community succession

(979) 845-0169 – droelke@tamu.edu


Paul Schwab

Paul Schwab

Professor, Department of Soil and Crop Sciences

Research interests: Contaminants in soil and water. Target contaminants include pesticides, plant nutrients, polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), polyaromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) and heavy metals. Sustainable use of water in energy

618 Heep Center – (949) 450-7424 – pschwab@tamu.edu


Vijay Singh

Vijay Singh

Professor, Lehrer Distinguished Chair in Water, Biological, and Agricultural Engineering

Research Interests: Surface and groundwater hydrology; water quality modeling; stochastic hydrology; irrigation hydraulics; entropy theory; and dam breach modeling

Scoates Hall, Room 321 – (979) 845-7028 – vsingh@tamu.edu


Patricia Smith

Patricia Smith

Associate Professor, Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Research Interests: Modeling land-use effects on hydrologic processes at different temporal and spatial scales; bacterial source tracking

Scoates Hall, Room 302B – (979) 845-3630 – patti-smith@tamu.edu


Raghavan (Srini)Srinivasan

Raghavan (Srini)Srinivasan

Director of the Spatial Sciences Laboratory; Professor, Forest Science, Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Research Interests: Water informatics; water modeling; application of GIS to hydrology

(979) 845-5069 - r-srinivasan@tamu.edu


John (Jack) Vitek

John (Jack) Vitek

Professor Emerita

Research Interests: Hydrogeology

302 Williams Administration Building – (979) 847-3631 – jvitek@neo.tamu.edu


Kevin Wagner

Kevin Wagner

Associate Director, Texas Water Resources Institute

Research Interests: Watershed management effects on water quality and quantity; Management systems for sustainable soil and water resources; Watershed assessment; Watershed planning; Water policy; Stakeholder engagement

240F Centeq – (979) 845-2649 – klwagner@ag.tamu.edu


Richard White

Richard H. White

Professor, Turfgrass Physiology & Management Soil & Crop Sciences Department

Research Interests: Drought resistant mechanisms in perennial grasses, water management and conservation in urban/suburban landscapes, and the effects of landscape management practices on water runoff quantity and quality

233C Heep Center – (979) 845-1550 – rh-white@tamu.edu


Bradford Wilcox

Bradford Wilcox

Professor, Ecosystem Science and Management

Research Interests: Ecohydrology and watershed management; rangeland hydrology with a focus on understanding the interactions of vegetation and the water cycle

Room 203, Animal Industries Bldg. – (979) 458-1899 – bwilcox@tamu.edu


Ralph Wurbs

Ralph Wurbs

Professor, Civil Engineering

Research Interests: Water resources planning and management; hydraulic engineering; reservoir management; hydrology

(979) 845-3079 – r-wurbs@tamu.edu


Hongbin Zhan

Hongbin Zhan

Professor, Geology and Geophysics

Research Interests: Groundwater hydrology and contaminant transport

Halbouty 256 – (979) 862-7961 – zhan@geo.tamu.edu

Geosciences TAMU Logo

Aggies can change the world. Geoscientists lead the way.